top of page
  • Writer's pictureYuke Wu

1/04 Reading Take-aways

Updated: Apr 8, 2019


Douglas Rushkoff- Chapter 1 or 2


1st takeaway: The article mentioned about multitask. I can not stop thinking if people can really multitask? I am a best example that people cannot really multitask while wishing to achieve the same level of performance. As a person who has cellphone addiction, firstly I spend much more time on a same assignment compare to my classmates. Playing with my phone constantly distracts my attention so that I cannot concentrate on what I am studying. The spreads my limited energy into different tasks will not increase productivity but actually decrease it, which causes the bad results. This mind distraction leads to bad or even chaotic and disordered memory and will negatively affect my learning outcome. Moreover, multitasking may cause information overload and might lead to cognitive derangement of students. It prevents us from better focusing and controlling our time. I can not stop reaching out my phone and feeling the nonexistent vibration of my phone, which is so called the "phantom vibration" in scientific term. It brings anxiety and discomfort.


2nd takeaway: I believe in technology determinism, which technology can determine people's behavior and social interaction. Our brain can be reformed by technology. The term "Neuroplasticity" describe the brain's capacity to create new pathways. The interactive device introduces discontinuity into an continuous medium. And this discontinuity-this deconstruction of story - is a form of power. The power can reshape our nervous system and our nervous systems are now attached to the entire online universe.

We sacrifice the thoughtfulness and deliberateness our digital media once offered for the false goal of immediacy. Instead of becoming empowered and aware, we become frazzled and exhausted. We are forced to adapt the new ecosystem, which controlled by technology.


4 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page