top of page
  • Writer's pictureYuke Wu

Noise Lookbook

Updated: Mar 12, 2019


Video demo of the final product:


Concept:

I rolled the dice to determine the theme of my work, which are Sound&Audacity; Graphic/ fashion design; Mapping

My idea of the final design is to:


1) Record the noise of the city

2) Convert the noise to the sound wave patterns.

3) Edit those patterns into textiles for a series of collages of every-day clothes ( pants, underwear, hats..).

4) Finally, I will create a Lookbook for these cloths.


The purpose is to indicate that the noise around us just like our clothe, we have to wear them everyday in the civilized city. It is always around us. It is a symbol or the product of modernization and civilianization. I will include the city noise for the background music of my collage, so the viewer can get a sense of it. My goal is to bring people's awareness of noise pollution.

Rational:


Noise pollution can be a problem in big city nowadays. I found some map, which can illustrate the noise level of the certain area. this is an useful reference link, it shows the global noise pollution map: http://lukasmartinelli.ch/gis/2016/04/03/openstreetmap-noise-pollution-map.html


Noise can cause serious health issue.

We all get used of the noise around us, It might be tempting to think that noise isn’t a serious health issue, after all, it’s just noise. It won’t kill us … right?


Well, exposure to prolonged or excessive noise has been shown to cause a range of health problems ranging from

*stress

*poor concentration

*productivity losses in the workplace

*communication difficulties

*and fatigue from lack of sleep,

*to more serious issues such as cardiovascular disease, cognitive impairment, tinnitus and hearing loss.


In 2011 the World Health Organization (WHO) released a report titled ‘Burden of disease from environmental noise’. This study collated data from various large-scale epidemiological studies of environmental noise in Western Europe, collected over a 10-year period.

The studies analysed environmental noise from planes, trains and vehicles, as well as other city sources, and then looked at links to health conditions such as cardiovascular disease, sleep disturbance, tinnitus, cognitive impairment in children, and annoyance.


Instructions:

First, I recorded this noise of city at Time Square.


Then I upload this sound track to http://convert.ing-now.com/. (sound wave graphic generator) This website allows me to convert this sound track to different kinds of sound-wave patterns. I am able to add background picture or colors for my personalized sound-wave pattern. Below are the sample patterns that I generated:


After this step, I edit those patterns in Photoshop and create some textile for my collage clothes.

I designed the clothes in Illustrator.



Branding and Visual Identity:



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page